Top Foods to Avoid with Celiac Disease

Tips for Celiac Disease Nutrition and Following a Gluten Free Diet

Gluten free diets have come into the limelight recently.  Some may believe that a gluten free diet is a “fad” diet or an eating plan that is hard to follow.  You may have even heard that a gluten free diet should not be followed because you won’t get enough fiber and will be short on nutrients if you eat this way.

CELIACS

The above statements couldn’t be further from the truth.  Eating a whole foods, gluten free diet is easy, full of nutrition, and can bring you immense digestive relief and can improve your health in ways you never imagined.  

For some with Celiac disease, eating gluten free is a must.  In celiac disease, consumption of gluten actually damages the intestinal lining and impairs the ability to absorb nutrients.  For those with gluten intolerance, eating gluten free is imperative as well and can help improve conditions ranging from IBS (bloating, constipation, reflux), skin irritations like eczema, brain fog, joint pain, and many other chronic conditions.  

10 Foods to Eat with Celiac Disease or Gluten Intolerance:

So, what can you eat on a gluten free diet?  Foods to focus on include:

  1. Vegetables
  2. Fruits
  3. Nuts, Seeds, Nut butters and Seeds butters
  4. Eggs, Fish, Beef, Poultry, Pork
  5. Cooking fats like Olive Oil, Avocado Oil, Coconut Oil, etc.
  6. Dairy Products (Butter, Cheese, Milk, Yogurt, etc)
  7. Beans and Legumes (black beans, lentils, etc)
  8. Herbs, spices, salt, pepper
  9. Naturally occurring gluten free grains like rice, quinoa, popcorn, gluten free oats, corn
  10. Beverages like water, 100% fruit juice, coffee, tea, kombucha, carbonated water

There are also plenty of gluten free alternatives on the market.  Gluten free alternatives such as gluten free bread, pasta, cookies, crackers, pizza, baked goods, flours, and so on are widely available.  Please note, if you do have celiac disease, choose gluten free alternatives that are verified by the celiac disease foundation in order to avoid cross contamination in your gluten free alternative products.  

9 Foods to avoid with celiac disease or gluten intolerance include, but aren’t limited to:

1. Wheat

2. Barley

3. Rye

4. Spelt

5. Malt and Malt Flavoring, and malt beverages

6. Semolina

7. Triticale

8. Modified Food Starch (if the starch is a wheat starch)

9. Oats (gluten free oats are suggested to avoid the cross contamination that occurs with processing oats)

Reading food labels can help you identify which food products contain gluten.  Some products to double check for gluten can include soy sauce, teriyaki sauce, BBQ sauce, cream-based soups, some salad dressings, ice cream and candy. Also, those with celiac disease need to take care to ensure their topical products (lotion, chapstick, toothpastes, etc) are gluten free.  

Tips for Eating Out With Celiac Disease or Gluten Intolerance:

When eating out on a gluten free diet or following a celiac disease diet, communicate your dietary needs with the wait staff/kitchen staff.  If you are diagnosed with celiac, a safe, gluten free facility is imperative to avoid cross contamination with gluten containing foods.  

Meet with a Celiac Dietitian 

Working with a Foodsmart Registered Dietitian can make the transition to a gluten free lifestyle an easy process.  Your dietitian can help guide you on food choices, product recommendations, recipes and meal plans, as well as methods to heal your digestive system and calm any gluten-related health implications.  Book your appointment today and find yourself a step closer to digestive peace, better nutrition, and a healthier you!

Foodsmart offers one-on-one nutrition counseling with a registered dietitian, with nutrition programs such as our Celiac Nutrition Program. This program is designed to help you manage celiac disease treatment or gluten intolerance, and will be customized specifically to you. 

Leave a Comment

X
Nutrition-coaching